Book Review & Guest Post: The Asset by Anna del Mar

TheAsset

About The Asset

Anna del Mar’s explosive, sexy debut novel in the Wounded Warrior series, perfect for fans of Lisa Marie Rice and Lora Leigh—the story of a woman desperate to escape her dangerous past and the navy SEAL who would lay down his life to save her

Ash Hunter knows what it is to run. A SEAL gravely injured in Afghanistan, he’s gone AWOL from the military hospital. Physically and mentally scarred, he returns home to his grandmother’s isolated cottage—and finds a beautiful, haunted stranger inside.

Like recognizes like.

Lia Stewart’s in hiding from the cartel she barely escaped alive, holed up in this small Rocky Mountain town. Surviving, but only just. Helping the wounded warrior on her doorstep is the right thing to do…it’s loving him that might get them both killed.

Soon, Ash realizes he’s not the only one tormented by the past. Pushing the limits of his broken body, testing the boundaries of her shattered soul, he’ll protect Lia until his last breath.

REVIEW:

With boatloads of chemistry and action, this romance is built on a solid plot, well-developed characters, and vivid descriptions.

Ash is a force to be reckoned with. An injured Navy SEAL, he has enough attitude to go along with his loyalty and determination. He’s forceful – in an acceptable way- and he doesn’t give up on what he wants. I couldn’t do anything but smile when he politely let Lia know that the status of their relationship was more than what she was ready to admit. It was the cutest (for lack of a better word coming to my brain right now) revelation I’ve ever read. Ash was extremely skilled, and his investigative abilities were outstanding – while believable. As a former private investigator, I had to tip my hat to him. But the great thing was the slick, sly, subtle way the plan was revealed. Kudos to del Mar!

Lia is strong and she knows how to fight. Her past brought tears to my eyes, and my heart went out to her. She’d come a long way at making a better life for herself, and the fact that she was willing to take on her “crew”, as well as take care of Ash, was admirable. The suspense held on to my brain cells, and page after page, I couldn’t wait to find out what she was running from, and what a terrible thing to be fleeing.

Ash’s fellow SEALs stole my heart. They were each broken in some way, but they forged on ahead. I also developed somewhat of an attachment to the townspeople who hung out at Mario’s Bar, but I think Neil is the real man of the hour! I wished for a little more at the end, but I’ll definitely be watching out for more in the future.

Rating system: The less the better.

0: You won’t need any coffee to stay up for this one. It’s intriguing enough all on its own.
1: You’ll stay up late, but not all night. Brew one cup.
2: You’ll read as long as you’re not tired. If you are, two cups should do the trick.
3: I hope you got plenty of rest; you’ll need it, or at least 3 cups.
4: If the cable goes out, read the book. It’s better than nothing, I guess. Oh, don’t forget your brew!
5: Find anything else to do- it doesn’t matter what it is. Don’t waste your coffee. Too much caffeine is bad for you.

My rating: 1 cup of coffee

Guest Post

What (and maybe who) comes next in The Wounded Warrior Series?

Who Comes Next in The Wounded Warrior Series?

By Anna Del Mar

The first book of my Wounded Warrior series has just been released and yet I kept being

asked the question: Who comes next?

My Wounded Warrior series is a collection of hot, smart romances about strong heroines

struggling to find their place in the world and the brave, kickass, military heroes who

challenge their limits to protect the women they love. In The Asset, the series’ first novel, we

meet Ash Hunter, a Navy SEAL wounded in Afghanistan who’s struggling to overcome his

injuries when he finds himself staring down the barrel of Lia Stuart’s shotgun.

Lia is a fugitive, hiding in a small Rocky Mountain town, desperately trying to escape her

terrifying past. She may not be a SEAL and she’s definitively keeping secrets, but Ash

recognizes her for who she really is: a fighter and a survivor, the kind, caring, passionate

woman he could love, if only she wasn’t so afraid to let him. When she risks her cover to help

him, Ash commits to a new mission: He will lay down his life to save hers.

In the second novel of the Wounded Warrior series, The Stranger, we meet Seth Erickson and

Summer Silva. When her sister runs away with a guy she met on the internet, Summer, a

warmth-loving Miami architect, chases her reckless sibling to Alaska and finds her life in

danger from more than the elements. Only a stranger, Seth Erickson, a wounded warrior with

a quarreling family as complicated as Summer’s and no time for a lady in distress—let alone

one who walks on her sleep—can save her from disaster. Together, two strangers from

different worlds and opposite spectrums of the thermometer must unravel the intrigues that

threaten their lives and overcome their painful pasts to chase after a new dream, together, in

majestic Alaska.

Like The Asset, The Stranger is a smart, fun, sexy, Wounded Warrior romance that explores

the extraordinary power of sex and love as healing agents. Set against Alaska’s magnificent

background, the story takes full advantage of the stunning setting, the clash of cultures, and

the local customs and legends to add a whimsical touch to this enduring, heartwarming tale.

And like The Asset, The Stranger follows the Wounded Warrior series’ hero equation: Brawn

+ brains + heart = Sizzling hot heroes.

 

Wounded Warrior Series: http://www.annadelmar.com/pages/home.html

The Asset: http://www.annadelmar.com/pages/books_asset.html

Get a Copy: Amazon | B&N | GooglePlay | iBooks | Kobo | Carina Press

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28076268-the-asset

a Rafflecopter giveaway

2 thoughts on “Book Review & Guest Post: The Asset by Anna del Mar

  1. Thank you for this wonderful review of The Asset. I really appreciate the read. Thank you also for sharing the novel with your readers. I’m glad you enjoyed The Asset.

Thank you for subscribing!