Cover Reveal: Always Mickie by Melanie Munton

AlwaysMickie-eBook
Always Mickie (Cruz Brothers #3)
By Melanie Munton
Genre: Contemporary Romance

Mickie is his. Always had been his.
And he’s going to remind her why she always will be his.

All her life, Mickie had always been the well-behaved, level-headed girl. But when she got to college, she was ready to strip herself of that image once and for all. She wanted excitement. She wanted spontaneity. She wanted to feel like she was actually living.

And getting down and dirty with the sexy guy she met at a concert seemed like the perfect solution. Sure, he didn’t know how to laugh, or even smile, but he definitely made her feel alive.

The whirlwind sex spree with him surprised her.
Falling in love with the guy surprised her even more.

FAST FORWARD TEN YEARS…

Dawson is losing her.

Mickie kicked him out of their house. She won’t talk to him. He knows marriage is never supposed to be easy, but being a dedicated cop for ten years has made everything that much harder. He doesn’t know how to fix their issues and make everything right.

But he isn’t about to let her go.

She says she wants the excitement back. She wants the spontaneity that first drew them together. She wants to experience the adventure of falling in love all over again.

Her wish is his command.

He’s going to remind her what it feels like to be loved, to be wanted, to be craved. If he has to, he’ll push everything else aside and start from scratch with her. He will never give up.

Because for him, it was Always Mickie.

Buy Link: Amazon

Connect with the Author: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Playlist

Spotlight: The Merchant’s Pearl by Amie O’Brien

160713-merchantspearl-bookbaby3ASIN: B01J2LCANW
Print Length: 466 pages
Publisher: BookBaby; 1 edition
Publication Date: July 24, 2016
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC

Blurb

The opinionated, only daughter of a missionary, is enslaved and gifted to an Ottoman prince who has an inner vow to win her affection.

Sarai was led to believe that the whole world could exchange their beliefs for hers. But when her parents are murdered, she quickly learns that the world never stops for just one person. The world takes, forgets, and swiftly moves on.

By 1875, she isn’t even Sarai anymore. She had spent her teenage years repackaged as Leila, a palace concubine-in-waiting for the overly indulgent, Ottoman Sultan, Abdul’Aziz. Leila does her best to stay out of the eye of ‘Aziz as well as his son, Prince Emre. But when young and thoughtful Emre claims Leila for his own harem, she is forced out of her shell and thrown into a ring of competitive women. Here, she cannot hide from the attention her young master wishes to lavish upon her. Nor can she can avoid the ruthless retaliations of his prior favorite, Aster. But it’s the unexpected gift of sexual sanctuary and an inside look into his family’s struggles that really collides with Leila’s upbringing. Soon, despite her better judgment, she finds her heart becoming increasingly tied to him.

But can she submit her faith and independent spirit to such a future—a future where to be loved means settling for the fact that she can only ever be his favorite? Will she be able to take turns sharing him among the four beautiful girls he had received before her, one being a jealous rival and another a closest friend? And what will happen to their love if Emre’s father can’t hold together his fragile kingdom, an empire that has grave threats encroaching from every side…including within?

Buy Links: Amazon | B & N |Kobo

About the Author:

AmieOBrienPic (2) - Copy

This is the first novel from Amie O’Brien, but she would tell you her characters are constantly nagging her for their future installments. Madly in love with her husband and children, she hopes to spend more time petting horses, reading books, and pursuing her addiction with world travel.

Connect with the Author: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Q & A with Amie O’Brien

What is the first book that made you cry?

Wow. I’ve got to really go back on that one because, for some odd reason, I love books that make me cry.
I think it was The Red Pony by John Steinbeck. I was really young, much too young for Steinbeck! I picked up the book at a neighbor’s yard sale. I really related to the main character because I wanted a horse of my own in the worst way and this boy finally gets gifted a pony. He takes care of it, loves it like mad, only for it to get sick and later wander off and then he finds it in the canyon getting eaten by buzzards. It was terribly depressing. Scarred my little heart for life, LOL.

Does writing energize or exhaust you?

Writing energizes me to the point of exhaustion! No seriously, there is something about writing that gets me so fired up I basically just live, sleep, eat, and breathe the story. I wrote The Merchant’s Pearl in 14 months, including my research. Granted, I spent the next whole year editing it and polishing the research, but still, that’s pretty obsessive writing, especially considering its length and that I was working a full-time job. I think I spent like 2 years with an average of 4 hours of sleep per night.

Do you try more to be original or to deliver to readers what they want?

I don’t think I really write conscious of either. Don’t get me wrong, I desperately want to be a bestselling author. I also want to make a good living. But when I write, I feel the characters so strongly I just write where the story is leading.

I also write within the confines of what I think is possible. The romance genre would have most authors push the limits, you know, in order to evoke feelings of that perfect, fairy tale ending. But I look at what reality would be and give my characters the very best I possibly can for them. I think I have to be true to life and show that although there may still be hardships, they’re stronger now because they are encountering them together.

Do you think someone could be a writer if they don’t feel emotions strongly?

I think that people are capable of anything. I personally feel things very strongly. I wear my heart on my sleeve and I know it. In fact, I sometimes catch stares at Starbucks because I make sympathetic faces for my characters when writing dialogue, LOL. Unconsciously, of course. I can’t help it.

What was the best money you ever spent as a writer?

Easy! I bought a book by Blake Snyder called Save the Cat. It was at Donald Miller’s suggestion and I have to say it’s absolute genius, not just for writing screen plays but for any story, any genre.

Does your family support your writing?

Whole-heartedly 

What was an early experience where you learned that language had power?

I’m sure I’m supposed to respond with a book, but it was actually a song, Man in the Mirror, by Michael Jackson. As a kid, seeing that music video on MTV made me look outside of myself for the very first time. It wrecked me. In a good way.

Do you hide any secrets in your book that only a few people would find?

Yes. But I think only my hubby could spot them. There are a few times that small actions or things said come directly from our own relationship, good times and bad. He kept lifting his eyebrow at me while reading it.

Excerpt2

His face hadn’t hardened at all these last few years. It still looked soft. His eyes seemed a deeper hazel than before, a soft chocolate brown rather than the medium color they had been when we were children. I studied them along with his long, thick, black lashes.
He didn’t have the lengthy beard either, the kind captured in oil paintings in certain rooms of the palace—the kind that made me cringe. Instead, his was a refined shadow that any man could grow in two or three days’ time. And then there was that olive skin, not as rich as his father’s, but a perfect match to his half-brother, Yusuf. Reflecting on the conduct of both, I had to smile. Suri was right. He seemed so much more thoughtful and less showy than Yusuf.
He must have felt me watching him or maybe it was the smile. He turned to look at me.
“I’m afraid I have built too good of a fire. Would you like to see the view from the window as the flames settle down a bit?”
“Yes, Sire.”
He didn’t offer me a hand up, just stood in a gentleman like manner as I rose to go before him to the twin towering windows.
“Allow me,” he said, reaching over me. He gently pulled back the velvet drapes using a long cord. “Everything about these windows is such a nuisance. I guess we don’t always feel very secure as a family. We like our unwanted ones to arrive and retreat announced, so the windows have very little play and are filled with squeaks.”
“Seems about right,” I mumbled.
He quickly glanced up at me.
“I mean, I think I would wish it that way too, if I were the Sultan.”
He said nothing, just looked back to the window, but I noticed a smug smile.
He gestured to the Bosphorus. In awe, I placed a hand on the cool pane of glass. The water looked as if it were practically below our feet. There was only a small strip of land between the palace, white iron gate, and the low, concrete sea wall. If anyone were in a boat coming from the opposite direction, I would swear it would have to look like a floating castle to their naked eye.
“It’s unbelievable.” I let out a little sigh.
“Have you not ever seen it before?”
“No. How could I? We came in by carriage.”
“Yes. I guess you wouldn’t have seen it so close like this. The land side, that’s where the Forbidden Gates are and where everyone like you enters.” He cleared his throat. “Sorry, what I meant to say was…that’s where your dormitory lies. Everyone else would enter by the Shore Gate, or perhaps, the Treasury Gate—not the Harem Gate.”
“How do you sleep at night with such a vision right outside your window?” I asked, peering out at the vast, still waters that gently licked up against the smooth wall. “The reflection of the torch lamps, it’s like the water itself is on fire.”
“I manage. I suppose after enough years even this becomes commonplace.”
“Well, that is a great misfortune, Sire. It is truly the loveliest sight my eyes have ever beheld. And I’m afraid I don’t give credit to much.”

Book Review: An Indecent Proposal by Katee Robert

an indecent proposalASIN: B017RQP25W
Print Length: 352 pages
Publisher: Forever
Publication Date: August 30, 2016
Sold by: Hachette Book Group

Blurb

Greed. Ambition. Violence. Those are the “values” Olivia Rashidi learned from her Russian mob family-and the values she must leave behind for the sake of her daughter. When she meets Cillian O’Malley, she recognizes the red flag of his family name . . . yet she still can’t stop herself from seeing the smoldering, tortured man. To save her family, Olivia sets out to discover Cillian’s own secrets, but the real revelation is how fast-and how hard-she’s falling for him.

Plagued by a violent past, Cillian is more vulnerable than anyone realizes. Anyone except Olivia, whose beauty, compassion, and pride have him at “hello,” even if she’s more inclined to say good-bye to an O’Malley. While his proposal of sex with no strings seems simple, what he feels for her isn’t, especially after he learns that she belongs to a rival crime family. Cillian knows that there is no escape from the life, but Olivia may be worth trying-and dying-for . . .

Book Review

I’d been worried about Cillian. So lost and so hurt. Olivia’s been carrying around her own pain. Who better to understand the trials and tribulation associated with being a member of a mob family than a bird strutting around with the same feathers?

Both are so troubled it’s a surprise that they could be of any use to anyone else, let alone each other. However, throw some hot sex in the mix; and the mystery is solved. They wanted each other in a primal way. Neither was in a position emotionally to handle anything more than sowing some wild oats. They were both on the same page,- or shall I say up against the same brick wall- so why the hell not?

Oh, because Cillian wants a little more than a just a dunk of his junk, so he is forced to stand his ground. Olivia bothered me a little at first. I understood her hesitancy; but she took it a little too far – just for a moment. Thankfully, she quickly returned to my good graces. I can’t enjoy a book when I dislike one of the main characters. I do like that she was strong and went after what she wanted. She was also a really great mother. I did feel bad for her being in the situation she was in, though. Just like I do with all the H/H in the series. Cillian’s behavior was a pleasant surprise. Of course readers get a taste of him in the previous books, but I had been on the fence about how I felt about him. I knew I’d grow to love him though, once I got to his story. And I was right. He’s a sweetie, which is probably a strange thing to say about someone in his occupation. But hey, that’s the way the series goes. You don’t love to hate them, you just love them.

There was more to deal with than just the usual family drama. Baby daddy just wasn’t right. Shame, shame, and more shame. Bad, bad, daddy.

And on a different note, Dmitri (the trouble-maker from The Wedding Pact) birthed a human chromosome or two. Talk about a jaw-dropper. The slight shift in his behavior makes me wonder if I’m about to like him. We shall soon find out, because I’m definitely going to continue with the series.

Rating system: Cups of Coffee (the less the better)

0: You won’t need any coffee to stay up for this one. It’s intriguing enough all on its own.
1: You’ll stay up late, but not all night. Brew one cup.
2: You’ll read as long as you’re not tired. If you are, two cups should do the trick.
3: I hope you got plenty of rest; you’ll need it, or at least 3 cups.
4: If the cable goes out, read the book. It’s better than nothing, I guess. Oh, don’t forget your brew!
5: Find anything else to do- it doesn’t matter what it is. Don’t waste your coffee. Too much caffeine is bad for you.

My rating: 1 cup of coffee

Spotlight! Rock Stars: She Came With The Tide by Viviana Mackade

15726689_10211158402137912_5551594803449093902_nASIN: B01NCUMYR0
Print Length: 462 pages
Publication Date: January 9, 2017
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
Language: English

She had no clue her life changed with that simple ‘yes’

Blurb

He’s impulsive, fearless, and fun loving.
Erik Axelsson, Ax, had it all: talent, fame, money. He’d lived the rock & roll life fully and with gusto until it wasn’t fun anymore. Without a second thought, he’d traded the spotlight with the Floridian sun, and the guitar with a surfboard. Young, rich, and free from anything – what more he could need?

She’s innocent, scared, and in trouble.
Andrea Smith escaped the life imposed to her when her parents joined a cult. After years on the run, hunger pushed her to accept a stranger’s offer for breakfast. She had no clue her life changed with that simple ‘yes’.

But the past catches up with her, forcing Andrea to choose what person she wants to be: the scared cult member that obeyed in silence, or the new woman Erik made blossom.

Excerpt

Erik brushed his palm on his prickling shoulders as the angry sun hit, leaving only salt where ocean drops had been a few minutes before. He revered in that roasting pleasure, in the blues of the sky and water surrounding him. Entertained by his unplanned guest, he pulled his dripping hair into a messy bun.
It had been a good day for surfing, with waves still crashing on the shoreline. The rumble must have hidden the croaky zip of the tent’s zipper because when he looked down at the entrance, he found two huge brown eyes staring at him.
The echo of lifetimes ago, distant, feeble, poked at him. The feeling dwelling into his heart after his parents had died, now lingered on her delicate features. Fear.
The girl took a breath, clenched her teeth and crawled out. She rose on all of her five feet five or so. “Who–” she cleared her throat. “Who are you?”
Wasn’t that a question he wasn’t used to? Everybody knew Ax and the Hurricanes. He’d spent ten years of his life on everybody’s mouth, eyes and above all, ears. Newspapers. TV. Concerts. Surprise for the question shadowed the male appreciation of the woman in front of him. For now. He’ll so be back at that.
“I think the question is, who are you?” he retorted, crossing his arms over his chest.
“A camper.”
“Well, camper, your tent is on my property, in case you missed that,” he said pointing at the Private Property notice on the berm not far from her den. He had to invest some money into a proper sign, he thought when he eyed the rusty, barely visible sign. “My house’s back there, anyway.”
She turned around, took those details in. “Oh.”
Erik used that time to make some math. A girl, alone, in an old tent. The black bag he’d peeked to with clothes in it. That look in her eyes. He sighed. “You hungry?”
She nodded.
“Let’s go.”
He took his surfboard and turned to go. “What?” he asked when she didn’t move.
“I–I don’t know you.”
Yeah, okay, back to that. She either had lived on the moon for the past fifteen years or was bullshitting him. He would give her the benefit of the doubt because she was hot, and keep Sheriff Charlie on speed dial for a while. He turned around. “I’m Erik Axelsson.”
He waited for his name to dawn on her. Nothing. Seriously?
“I’m Andrea Smith.”
“All right, Andrea Smith. I’m hungry, covered in sand, and the sun is cooking my brain. I’m going in, you do as you please.”

BUY: AMAZON

WELCOME TO CRESCENT CREEK!

2017-03-13 09.50.50 amFrom the cold Canadian border, the US1 runs along the east coast with patience.
Throughout its 2,369 miles, it braces itself in the northern winters, sighs with pride in Richmond. It falls west in the Carolinas, to stroke the great smoky mountains with loving eyes. And it’s south, still south, through the marshes and plantations of Georgia.
Finally, it indulges in sun, white sand, and oranges. The Sunshine State.
Not the fastest way, sure, but if you have time to drive it all the way down, you might find yourself lost in one of the coastal towns that dot the US1 like little jewels. Maybe that town’s name is Crescent Creek. God knows if I stumbled upon it by chance.
Crescent Creek is a lot like my own town–sandy, hot, with a lot of blue coming from the uncluttered sky and the ocean.
How did I find out about it?
Well, it was thanks to a (hopefully) common friend you and I have, Erik Axelsson.
I met him when I wrote his and Andrea’s story, She Came With The Tide. At some point, he told me that when he had enough of his rock & roll lifestyle, the only place he could think of settling down was the town he was born in, Crescent Creek. He was Erik there, not Ax. Nobody actually cared too much about Ax. Plus, the whole town was very protective of him, and made the transition from stardom to normality easier.
Thanks to him I met Charlotte O’Brien, Sheriff Charlie. And that’s pretty much how it started. I paid some visits to the town, met too many interesting people to just pass the opportunity to write their stories. 2017-03-13 09.40.09 am
The May family, the owners of May’s Bakery; Eva, the fearless reporter for the Crescent Creek News; the Beckett brothers. Scott Beckett, owner of the restaurant Scott’s, told me his story–well, his and DJ’s. I started writing it. Thinking about all the others, too.
See, the point is, that while I get to know so many new people, if I stay in Crescent Creek I get to catch glimpses of friends I already know. I can have actual updates on how their lives are going after that happily ever after. Which is why I’ll spend some good time in here.
I hope you’ll stay with me, us, for a while.

 

 

Connect with the Author: Website |Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Amazon

Book Review: The Wedding Pact by Katee Robert

wedding pactASIN: B013CATPGE
Publisher: Forever (April 26, 2016)
Publication Date: April 26, 2016
Sold by: Hachette Book Group
Language: English

Blurb

Carrigan O’Malley has always known her arranged marriage would be more about power and prestige than passion. But after one taste of the hard-bodied, whiskey-voiced James Halloran, she’s ruined for anyone else. Too bad James and his family are enemy number 1.

Hallorans vs. O’Malleys-that’s how it’s always been. James should be thinking more about how to expand his family’s empire instead of how silky Carrigan’s skin is against his and how he can next get her into his bed. Those are dangerous thoughts. But not nearly as dangerous as he’ll be if he can’t get what he wants: Carrigan by his side for the rest of their lives.

Book Review

James and Carrigan rule!

Members of rival Irish mobster families, these two got a taste of each other and became hooked. Carrigan tried to fight her attraction to James, but he wasn’t having it. He knew it wasn’t a good idea, but he’s not the one to deny himself the pleasures of life, or at least that wasn’t his usual plan. When his father’s extensive (let’s face it, he’s not getting out) stint in prison thrusts him into the driver’s seat, his upbringing is no match for his inherent good side. He knows what needs to be done, but he’s willing to go only so far.

Carrigan is just as drawn to James as he is to her, but she’s tired of being controlled. When her father demands she picks a groom off a list of men he’s compiled; she knows it’s only a matter of time before she’s permanently shackled to someone she’s not the least bit interested in or even attracted to. What’s a girl to do? Have a little fun while she can, and if she can throw in a little FU to dad by having said fun with the head of the family he loathes (not to mention the man that kidnapped her in The Marriage Contract), then why the hell not? Kill two proverbial birds with one horny stone!

In true Robert’s expert fashion, Carrigan and James are a tad complex, albeit well-developed characters. They generate enough heat to warm a large Irish village through three winters, and the witty repartee is the hottest foreplay. Their bold, straightforward behavior fits their roles, and it’s pure genius how Robert’s allows them to express their feelings without contradicting what is known of their characters. They show their love for each other by not just being together, but by also being aware of how their actions could hurt the other, not to mention the damage their families would do, Carrigan’s in particular. James has his own family drama to deal with, and he somehow manages to keep one eye on that drama while the other remains on his relationship with Carrigan. She reciprocates by showing James how she feels (it’s too dangerous to publicize it) while at the same time attempting to protect him by going along with her father’s wishes. I had no clue how it would all play out – well I knew they’d end up together (that’s the rule), but the way it all unfolded was a total surprise.

I think the Wedding scene was my favorite (one of many) in this story. I was very excited to get another bit of Teague and Callie. I loved their story (The Marriage Contract). Cillian and Olivia’s story is introduced, and Robert did a superb job incorporating just enough of them to entice without bulldozering over James and Carrigan. There’s a nice little cliffhanger, too, regarding the Dmitri. Kudos!

Rating system: Cups of Coffee (the less the better)

0: You won’t need any coffee to stay up for this one. It’s intriguing enough all on its own.
1: You’ll stay up late, but not all night. Brew one cup.
2: You’ll read as long as you’re not tired. If you are, two cups should do the trick.
3: I hope you got plenty of rest; you’ll need it, or at least 3 cups.
4: If the cable goes out, read the book. It’s better than nothing, I guess. Oh, don’t forget your brew!
5: Find anything else to do- it doesn’t matter what it is. Don’t waste your coffee. Too much caffeine is bad for you.

My rating: 0 cups of coffee

Book Promo & Author Interview: Her Secret Ranger by Donna Michaels

Kissing
the sexy soldier was a dare she couldn’t resist…

HER SECRET RANGER
The Men of At Ease Ranch #2
Donna Michaels
Releasing March 6th, 2017
Entangled Lovestruck

Kissing
the sexy soldier was a dare she couldn’t resist…


By-the-book
event planner Beth Brannigan’s best friend dared her to kiss a cowboy. She
should have said no. Instead, she said please…again and again. If
her brother finds out she’s dating—okay, kissing—okay, sleeping with—one
of his military buddies, he’ll kill her. Assuming he doesn’t kill his friend
first.
Former Army
Ranger Brick Mitchum isn’t a relationship kind of guy. But then he meets Beth
and starts to wonder if maybe it’s time he settled down. She’s mysterious.
Unpredictable. Curvy in every way he needs… And hiding something. He’s just got
to figure out what

Don’t Miss the first title in the series
IN A RANGER’S ARMS
Now a USA Today Bestseller

Donna Michaels is an award winning, New York Times & USA
Today bestselling author of Romaginative fiction. Her hot, humorous, and
heartwarming stories include cowboys, men in uniform, and some sexy, primal
alphas. With a husband in the military fulltime, and a household of nine, she
never runs out of material to write, and has rightfully earned the nickname
Lucy…and sometimes Ethel. From short to epic, her books entertain readers
across a variety of sub-genres, and one has even being hand drawn into a Japanese
translation. Now, if only she could read it.


Q&A with Donna Michaels

How did you come up with the concept and the characters for the story?

Right from the birth of The Men of At-Ease Ranch series concept, I knew from discussing with my editor that the heroine in the second book, Her Secret Ranger, was going to be the sister to one of the other heroes. The mistaken identity trope went into play, because the hero would never “knowingly” mess with another Ranger’s sister. It made for a little bit of fun trying to keep the two men from meeting.

What did you enjoy most about writing this book?

I enjoyed writing all of it. I really did. The characters practically wrote the book themselves. It was every author’s dream type book. They were funny and sweet, hot and hardheaded, and then I got to revisit the characters from the first book, including Lula Belle. Yep, this was one of my all-time favorite books to write. I wish they were all this fun and easy.

Name three things on your desk right now.

Three things on my desk, besides my laptop and mouse, are:

1. Halo, my cat. She’s half on my lap, half on my laptop desk. Bless her. She’s been diagnosed with inoperable cancer, so if she wants to lay on my work, I let her, I just have to try to type around her, like I am doing now. 
2. Coffee mug with the phrase: Writer’s Block: When your imaginary friends stop talking to you.
3. My phone so I can keep up with the messages from authors about parties I’ve agreed to do, and of course, texts from my kids.
What are some books that you enjoyed recently?
Trouble with Mistletoe by Jill Shalvis. I’m so freaking excited it’s going to be made into a movie!! I love all her books. Can’t get enough of Jill!

What do you like to do when you aren’t writing?

When I’m not writing, if I have some me-time, I’ll either read or watch TV. I have a lot of shows I usually have to catch up on once I meet my deadline. Halo likes this too, because she gets to have my lap unobstructed by the computer.

Can you tell us about your upcoming book?

I just finished writing book 3, tentatively titled: The Right Ranger. In it, I got to have fun causing a little chaos to Cord Brannigan who is Beth’s brother and Brick’s best friend. He’s been kind of quiet, unsmiling, and a little controlling in the first two books, so it was fun to dig into why and give him a heroine who is a bit independent.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Spotlight: One and Only by Amy Knupp

VT-OneAndOnly-AKnupp_FINAL

One and Only
Hale Street #7
By: Amy Knupp
Releasing March 7, 2017
Self-Published
Link to Follow Tour: Tasty Book Tours
Goodreads
Goodreads Series

NewOne_And_Only_1600x2400Blurb

Drummer Micah Sullivan lost his music and his dreams when his wife died unexpectedly. In the emotional aftermath, he quit his successful country band and pushed away his family and friends. Three years later, he’s opened a music shop on Hale Street in Nashville and tells himself he’s content trying to make it a hit. What he failed to consider is that success requires connections—including the very ones he turned his back on.
Sloan McGuire is up for a new challenge…never realizing it might lead to heartbreak. When she takes a job as entertainment manager at a bar not known for its music, she doesn’t bargain for running into Micah, whose late wife was her best friend. She can tell within minutes that he’s still grieving. Out of love for her friend, she attempts to reconnect with the reclusive drummer. Falling for him isn’t in the plans, though—not only because he was married to her friend but because she’s been second-best before, and she never wants to play that role again.
As Micah starts finding his rhythm, life throws him a different beat. But with a little improvisation and a lot of courage, he just might tap into the one and only connection he needs.

Buy Links: AMAZON | ITUNES | KOBO

AmyAuthor Info

Amy Knupp is the author of contemporary romance, a freelance copy editor for Blue Otter Editing, and a freelance technical writer. While the collection of professional hats she wears sounds a bit scattered and broad, the common thread among all of them (perhaps the little ball on top of each hat) is the written word. She loves words and grammar and meaty, engrossing stories with complex characters.
Amy lives in Wisconsin with her husband, two teenage sons, four cats, and two box turtles. She graduated from the University of Kansas with degrees in French and journalism. In her spare time, she enjoys traveling, breaking up cat fights, watching college hoops, and annoying her family by correcting their grammar.

Author Links: WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | GOODREADS

Q&A with Amy Knupp

How did you come up with the concept and the characters for the story?

Micah Sullivan, the hero, showed up in my first book in the series (Sweet Spot) wanting to rent space for a music store on Hale Street. Whenever a new character is mentioned in a scene, I go to Pinterest and find inspiration for the character so I can better describe him or her. The photo I found of Micah is (of course) hot, but in it, he’s not happy, and that got my imagination going. Why isn’t he happy? (Turns out his wife died unexpectedly three years ago.) He’s also wearing a hood in it, and that led me to think about why he might be “hiding.” (In a nutshell, grief, sadness, and a little bit of guilt.) His journey drives the story, so in this case, the picture was sort of worth 75,000 words. 

FB-Ad-One-and-Only-F4-Final

What did you enjoy most about writing this book?

The Hale Street series is a multi-author series I’m writing with two of my best friends, Emily Leigh and Natasha Lake. While each story is stand-alone, we collaborate constantly on the setting and character crossover, and the collaboration is the very best part. The synergy the three of us have makes writing kind of magical, even on the hard days. If I’m struggling with a plot point, my girls are all over it with me because they know my characters almost as well as I do. Plus we do girls’ writing retreat weekends a few times a year and a weeklong private writing retreat in a lake cottage each summer. Not only is it great for the writing but it’s soul time.

What gave you the most trouble with this story?

It was a challenge to take Micah from a grieving, hiding-from-life man to a happy, in-love one. You can’t rush grief. Further complicating things was that his heroine, Sloan, was his wife’s best friend. That’s not the main conflict between them, but I couldn’t gloss over it either.

What 5 things should readers know about you?

1. ONE AND ONLY is my 18th published book and my favorite one (at least today!)
2. I have four cats and have told my husband he can never leave me or I’ll be a cat lady.
3. Making decisions is often excruciating for me. I can weigh pros and cons until my eyes cross.
4. I have an obsession with office products—pens, Post-its, pretty notebooks, gel pens, colored binder clips, penguin-shaped paper clips…
5. I live in Wisconsin, the cheese state, but I can’t eat dairy. Before that, I lived in Kansas, the wheat state, but I can’t eat gluten.

FB-Ad-One-and-Only-F3-Final

What do you like best about being a writer? What is the most challenging part?

This might be revealing my inner geekiness, but I love the psychology aspect of writing two people who fall in love. When two people come together with an assortment of baggage, you’ve got a lot of stuff to work through, and I love the puzzle of it all and figuring out how the pieces go together. I love it especially after the hard part’s all done!

What do you do when you are not writing?

Work-wise, I’m a full-time freelance copyeditor, so I read all day every day (and correct grammar, etc. to my OCD heart’s content). I get to read/edit just about every genre/sub-genre imaginable, though more than half my projects are romance. Tough job but somebody has to do it! I feel blessed that I can say honestly I love what I do. Between freelancing, which can mean working weekends and holidays, and raising two teenage boys with my husband, I manage to maintain a fairly high level of crazy.

Can you tell us about your upcoming book?

I don’t know a lot yet because I’m in the early stages of writing it, but my next book, out this summer, is a novella about two characters from ONE AND ONLY. Lena Kessler is the oldest of four sisters and the only one still single. She longs for love and babies like the rest of her family has. Former NHL player Ash McGuire is the last person who could give her what she dreams of but the only one she wants.

tastytoursexcerpt

His eyes were closed, and he was … lost in the music. No question about it.
He wore headphones, so whatever song he was playing to, she couldn’t hear, and he was jamming out hard enough that his hair was flopping all over the place. His whole body was in action as his sticks flew from one element to another. It seemed wild and out of control and … God, so sexy.
Sloan frowned at the thought, intended to get his attention and put an end to her private ogling session, but she couldn’t make herself do it quite yet. Because she was riveted by the sight. The expressions on his face, so animated, so full of feeling. The way his biceps flexed and rippled, partially visible beneath his T-shirt sleeves. His hands, in command of two thin wooden sticks, able to make such powerful, moving music. It was just percussion, but she felt it in her chest. The beats, yes, but also the emotion. And Micah himself.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Book Tour & Review: The Beast of Aros Castle by Heather McCollum

VT-BeastofArosCastle-HMcCollum_FINAL

The Beast of Aros Castle
Highland Isles #1
By: Heather McCollum
Releasing February 20, 2017
Entangled Scandalous
Link to Follow Tour: Tasty Book Tours
Goodreads

TheBeastofArosCastle1600Blurb

On the run from a dangerous man, Ava Sutton flees to the Isle of Mull off the coast of Scotland. Masquerading as a titled, English lady, Ava must convince the cynical and darkly handsome chief of the Macleans of Aros to wed her before the devil tracks her down.

Tor Maclean, the new chief of Aros Castle, has sworn off marriage after his first wife tricked him into it. Despite his efforts to scare away the Englishwoman, his father arranged for him to wed, Tor is drawn to her fire, courage, and beauty. But when truths are revealed, and hearts as well as lives are on the dagger’s edge, Tor doesn’t know if he can forgive or if he will truly become the solitary Beast of Aros Castle…

Buy Links: AMAZON | B & N | ITUNES | KOBO

tastytoursreview

I wouldn’t mind letting the beast take a bite out of me!

Of course he’s all alpha male, he’s a Scottish warrior. No one was penetrating his walls, castle or heart. So he thought. Ava had other plans, and she wasted no time carrying them out. She also thought her walls were inpenetrable, but Tor proved her wrong. She first worked her way into his mother’s heart (naturally… there was no plotting involved) and then she wrapped his men around her finger.

The plot setup was good, and I couldn’t wait to see what would happen. Timid Grace balanced out Ava’s feistiness, but I loved Ava’s sense of adventure, her loyalty, and her desire to protect. In these, and other areas, she was the perfect match for Tor.

The romance started out a little thinner than I’d expected. They ended up kissing alot, and for a moment I thought the relationship would be based soley on their physical attraction. Throughout the story, I wished for Ava to just be honest, especially since Tor had been deceived into the marriage before, but I guess there wouldn’t have been much of a story if she’d confessed early on. My feelings went back and forth. I really liked her in most regards; but I liked Tor as well, and she could’ve (and should’ve) been honest with him, especially at the point that he told her he only wanted an heir.

Anyway the story was pretty good. I liked the supporting characters, and I’m always up for the Scottish. 🙂

Rating system: Cups of Coffee (the less the better)

0: You won’t need any coffee to stay up for this one. It’s intriguing enough all on its own.
1: You’ll stay up late, but not all night. Brew one cup.
2: You’ll read as long as you’re not tired. If you are, two cups should do the trick.
3: I hope you got plenty of rest; you’ll need it, or at least 3 cups.
4: If the cable goes out, read the book. It’s better than nothing, I guess. Oh, don’t forget your brew!
5: Find anything else to do- it doesn’t matter what it is. Don’t waste your coffee. Too much caffeine is bad for you.

My rating: 2 cups of coffee

HeatherAuthor Info

Heather McCollum is an award-winning, historical and YA contemporary paranormal romance writer. She earned her B.A. in Biology, much to her English professor’s dismay, and was a 2009 Golden Heart Finalist.
When she is not creating vibrant characters & magical adventures on the page, she is roaring her own battle cry in the war against ovarian cancer. Ms. McCollum recently slayed the cancer beast and resides with her very own hero & 3 kids in the wilds of suburbia on the mid-Atlantic coast.

Author Links: WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | GOODREADS

tastytoursexcerpt

He ignored her pity. “If I am to choose a bride, she would have to be someone I deem worthy. Someone who wouldn’t perish during the first winter storm or hide under the bed if troops came to take the castle.”
“I am actually noted for my resistance to illness,” she said, intertwining her slender fingers together before her skirts. “As well as my reluctance to crawl under furniture.”
He moved closer, an idea forming. The woman was brazen, unpredictable, and she thought she had the upper hand with that bloody camp of English just across the way. But if she thought it best to break the betrothal, he would accommodate her. And the best way to scare off a virgin, even a brazen virgin, was to give her a taste of fire.
“How about passion, lass?” He leaned down to her ear. “Are ye reluctant to crawl under my sheets?” She inhaled quickly as he pulled her against his body, one hand guiding her head while the other pressed against her back. Her eyes widened as he descended for the kiss.
He met her mouth with every intention of being frightening and hard. How dare this Englishwoman come onto his island, demanding he drop his mountainous pile of obligations as chief and sacrifice his freedom to wed her? But the moment he felt the soft warmth of her lips, the ripe feel of her body in his arms, against his length, the kiss changed. She tasted of woman and innocence wrapped together with awakening heat. He threaded his fingers through her hair to cup her face without breaking contact. Her cheeks were smooth against his rough palms, and instead of yanking away, she remained rooted to the ground.
With a slight tilt of her face, their lips melded intimately as she met him with the same intensity, moving in rhythm with him like they’d been tupping for years. The thought made a low growl creep up his throat before he realized it, nearly escaping as a groan. But he wouldn’t give her that triumph.
Dainty but strong fingers curled into his shirt, holding her to him as he bent to surround her on three sides. Yet he gave her room to escape. If she’d just step back, surrender to the contest, but she didn’t. Were her heels dug into the floor?
His pulse thrummed as fire swept through his body, and thoughts of victory turned to smoke. Tor’s fingers loosened pins and curls as he slid his fingers through her bound hair.
A gasp. “Tor, unhand that lass this minute.” His mother’s voice doused his desire with ocean spray.
As if breaking through the surface of the sea, Tor released Ava’s lips, but he still held her body. Her eyes were closed, her lips damp, cheeks flushed, hair tumbling free around her shoulders. She blinked, waking to stare straight into his eyes. But instead of fear or better yet, barely controlled passion, he saw something that cooled his blood more thoroughly than his mother’s scolding.
Contempt.

Her words were a soft issue from kiss-swollen lips. “So then,” Ava whispered. “You are a beast.”
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Book Promotion: What Happens in Bangkok by Daryl Devore

_WHiB_CoverASIN: B01NAYE911
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publication Date: February 3, 2017
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
Print Length: 206 pages

Blurb

To save Darien’s life his brother asks, “Can you walk in high heels?”
Erika Bailey, owner/manager of a drag queen club in Bangkok, Thailand has happily settled into all aspects of her new life, except for her lack of a love life. When a new diva auditions, Erika is bewildered over her instant attraction to the blond God, Apollo.
Darien Scott is on vacation after a world tour and mistakenly figures the safest place to be is at The Black Dragon with the head of a Triad. When the club is hit, Darien is the only person to get out alive. Now he’s running from the police and a Triad. Mistake number 1.
Disguised as a drag queen, he’s hired by Erika, but falls hard for his new boss, then struggles with not coming clean with her. Mistake number 2.
Can he fix his mistakes and find a life filled with love or is he headed straight for mistake number 3?

Buy Links: eXtasy Books | Amazon | Amazon Canada | KOBO | Book Strand

About the Author

Daryl Devoré lives in an in old farmhouse in Ontario, Canada, with her husband, a large salt water aquarium full of fish, a black cat named Licorice and some house ghosts. Her daughter is grown and has flown the nest. Daryl loves to take long walks up her quiet country road, or snow shoe across the back acres and in the summer, kayak along the St. Lawrence River. She has touched a moon rock, a mammoth and a meteorite. She’s been deep in the ocean in a submarine, flown high over Niagara Falls in a helicopter and used the ladies room in a royal palace. Life’s an adventure and Daryl’s having fun living it.

Connect with the Author: Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | Goodreads | Amazon | LinkedIn | Pinterest

5 Star Review –

I loved this story. From the very beginning I was on the edge of my seat until I finished it several hours later. I couldn’t put the book down. I needed to know what was going to happen to Darien and Erika next. Fast paced from the first word and with several surprises I’d highly recommend this book.

Excerpt

Darien inhaled a deep breath, and chugged the final mouthfuls. He placed the glass on the night table and tossed back the sheets, forgetting he was naked, and being ogled by three gay men, one of whom was obviously excited at his naked presence. Darien pointed at his sweat pants resting on the floor. “Somebody hand me those, please. ‘Cause with the hard-on he’s got going there, I’m not bending over to pick’em up.”
Sandee tossed him his sweats. “We’ll let you get dressed. Lennie’s making breakfast.”
The man who handed him the hangover cure smiled. “Hope you like French toast and bacon.”
Darien’s stomach rumbled. “Love some. Kinda hungry. I’ll be right out.”
After dressing and eating breakfast, Darien settled back in his chair and released a long sigh.
“Feeling better this morning?” His brother grinned.
Darien nodded. “Yeah. Thanks. I so owe you.”
“Hell yes, you do. First time Alonzo and I get the same night off in months, and you blow in bloody as hell, trying to escape from a Triad hit.” Brian gulped back his coffee. “So now we just have to figure out how to hide you.”
“Blond.”
Darien glanced at Stewart.
“Dye his hair blond and shave the face fuzz, and no one’s going to know who he is.”
Brian pushed his chair back and stood. “Pretty drastic, but a good idea, until you can get out of here.” He tossed his dishes in the sink.
Darien rubbed his chin. “Won’t be on tour for a while, so I can always grow it back. I don’t want to die and I’m gonna, if they find me.”
Sandee swallowed the last of his breakfast. “Do you know if they are looking for you? The cops, I mean.”
“I’d say they are.” Lennie looked up. “Watched the news this morning, and the cops have the security video from the Dragon. They did a body count and you’re missing. They have your face on the TV asking if anyone’s seen you.”
“Shit!” Darien thumped his hand on the table. “The cops are gonna want to know what I know about this. Bleeding Sun’s gonna wanna know if I saw their shooters, and Nai Jâhng’s gang is probably very curious about how I ended up being the only person who got out alive. They’re gonna assume I was involved.” He rested his elbows on the table and dropped his head into his hands. “I am so fucked.”
“Not necessarily.”
Darien’s brow furrowed as he stared at Stewart, who waggled his eyebrows at Brian.
“Brilliant.” Brian grinned at his brother. “Question. Can you walk in high heels?”

A Dozen Quick Questions from Darien Scott

Hi, I’m Daryl Devoré and I brought along Darien Scott from my erotic rock star romance – What Happens in Bangkok. Okay – Darien, it’s all yours.
Describe yourself in three words.
Rich rock star

How old are you?
Late 20s

Where do you come from?
Boone, North Carolina

What was your best/worst subject in school?
Best subject – probably Detention. I’d say I spent more time there than in the classroom. Worst subject – there were so many. No idea which to pick.

Are you the life and soul of the party or more of a wallflower?
LOL – after a couple of shots of vodka – look out the party animal has arrived. Some of my partying days are legendary.

What do you do for a living?
Rock star – internationally renowned – Grammy award winning

What is your dream job?
I am living the dream. The life can be rough. Tours take a lot out of you, but the fame and $$ make it worthwhile.

Where is your favourite place to relax?
My beach house in Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina.

What do you think is your greatest talent?
Uh…this has to be PG right? Hmm, Erika says I make great coffee. So let’s go with that.

What do you think is your biggest achievement?
Getting out of the Black Dragon club alive. To this day, I really have no idea how I did it.

Do you have any bad habits?
Oh – so not going there. I wouldn’t know where to start.

Boxers, briefs, or commando?
Yup.

Daryl’s Bookshelf

sexy red Flesh capris fate brace for impact black dorn billionares a kept woman

Book Promo: My Fair Duchess by Megan Frampton

VT-MyFairDuchess-MFrampton_FINAL

My Fair Duchess
Dukes Behaving Badly #5
By: Megan Frampton
Releasing February 28, 2017
Avon Books
Link to Follow Tour: Tasty Book Tours
Goodreads
Goodreads Series

my fair duchess mm cIn Megan Frampton’s most recent installment of The Dukes Behaving Badly series, an unexpected duchess proves that behaving badly isn’t exclusive to the Dukedom.
The Unexpected Duchess
Archibald Salisbury, son of a viscount, war hero, and proficient in the proper ways of aristocratic society, has received orders for his most challenging mission: Genevieve, Duchess of Blakesley. How she inherited a duchy isn’t his problem. Turning her into a perfect duchess is. But how can he keep his mind on business when her beauty entices him toward pleasure?
It was impossible, unprecedented…and undeniably true. Genevieve is now a “duke”, or, rather, a duchess. So what is she to do when the ton eyes her every move, hoping she’ll make a mistake? Genevieve knows she has brains and has sometimes been told she has beauty, but, out of her depth, she calls on an expert. And what an expert, with shoulders broad enough to lean on, and a wit that matches her own. Archie is supposed to teach her to be a lady and run her estate, but what she really wants to do is unladylike—run into his arms.

Buy Links: AMAZON | B & N | GOOGLE | ITUNES | KOBO

MeganFrampton author photo B & WAuthor Info

Megan Frampton writes historical romance under her own name and romantic women’s fiction as Megan Caldwell. She likes the color black, gin, dark-haired British men, and huge earrings, not in that order. She lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her husband and son. You can visit her on her website, @meganf, and at Facebook.

Author Links: WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | GOODREADS

tastytoursexcerpt
Excerpt
1845, Lady Sophia’s Drawing Room

“There’s only one solution,” Lady Sophia said, passing the letter to Archie as he felt his stomach drop. And his carefully ordered life teeter on the verge of change. “You’ll have to go to London to sort my goddaughter out.” She embellished her point by squeezing her tiny dog Truffles, who emitted a squeak and glared at Archie. As if it was his fault.
He resisted the urge to crumple the paper in his hand. “But the festival is in a few weeks,” Archie said, hearing the desperate tone in his voice. He did not want to ever return to London. That was the purpose of taking a position out here in the country after leaving the Queen’s Own Hussars a year prior. His family was there, and his father, at least, had made it clear he never wanted to see him again. What’s more, he did not want to assist a helpless aristocrat in some sort of desperate attempt to bring order to their lives. Even though that was what he was doing in Lady Sophia’s employ. But working for her had come to have its own kind of satisfactory order, one he did not want to disrupt.
“There is work to be done,” Archie continued, hoping to appeal to his employer’s sensible side.
Although in the course of working for her he had come to realize his employer didn’t really have a sensible side, so what was he hoping to accomplish?
“Didn’t you tell me Mr. McCready could do everything you could?” Lady Sophia asked. “You pointed out that if you were to get ill, or busy with other matters, your assistant steward could handle things just as well as you.”
That was when I was trying to get one of my men work, Archie thought in frustration. To help him get back on his feet after the rigors of war. And Bob had proven himself to be a remarkably able assistant, allowing Archie to dive into Lady Sophia’s woefully neglected accounts and see into her investments, neither of which she paid any attention to.
Lady Sophia placed Truffles on the rug before lifting her head to look at Archie. Who knew, in that moment, that he was doomed. Doomed to return to London to help out a likely far-too- indulged female in the very difficult position of being a powerful and wealthy aristocrat.
Perhaps it would have been easier to just get shot on the battlefield. It certainly would have been quicker.
“It’s settled.” She punctuated her words with a nod of her head, sending a few gray curls flying in the air. “You will go see to the new duchess and take care of her as ably as you do me. Mr. Mc-Cready will assist me while you are away.”
Archie looked at the letter again. “This duchess is your relative?” he asked. That would explain the new duchess’s equally silly mode of communication. An “unexpected duchess,” indeed. What kind of idiot wouldn’t have foreseen this circumstance? And done something to prepare for it?
“She calls me aunt, but she is not my actual niece, you understand,” Lady Sophia explained. “She is my goddaughter; her mother married the duke, the duchess’s father. It is quite unusual for a woman to inherit the duchy.”
“Quite,” Archie echoed.
“But it happened, somehow, and since I don’t know anything about being a duchess . . .” Because I do? Archie wondered. But there wasn’t anybody else. She wouldn’t have asked Lady Sophia, of all people, unless there was nobody else.
Or if she was as flighty and confident as her faux-aunt. A scenario that seemed more and more likely.
“The only thing Mr. McCready can’t do is attract as much feminine interest as you do, Mr. Salisbury.” She sat back up and regarded him. “Which might make him more productive,” she added. She leaned over to offer Truffles the end of her biscuit.
Archie opened his mouth to object, but closed it when he realized she was right. He wasn’t vain, but he did recognize that ladies tended to find his appearance attractive. Lady Sophia received many more visitors, she’d told him in an irritated tone, now that he’d been hired.
Bob, damn his eyes, smirked knowingly every time Archie was summoned to Lady Sophia’s drawing room to answer yet another question about estate management posed by a lady who’d likely never had such a question in her life.
Archie responded by making Bob personally in charge of the fertilizer. It didn’t stop Bob’s smirking, but it did make Archie feel better.
“And you will return in a month’s time so you can be here for the festival.”
“Sooner if I can, my lady.” If this duchess needed more time than a month, there would be no hope for her anyway. Country life suited him; he liked its quiet and regularity. It was a vast change from life in battle, or even being just on duty, but it was far more interesting than being the third son from a viscount’s family. A viscount who disowned his third boy when said boy was determined to join the army.
Meanwhile, however, he had to pack to head off to a new kind of battle—that of preparing a completely unprepared woman, likely a woman as flighty and often confused as Lady Sophia, to hold a position that she was entirely unsuited for.
Very much like working with raw recruits, in fact.

a Rafflecopter giveaway